top of page

The Night The Lights Burned Out

This was the night I didn't know you anymore.

I breathed for you--

Ya know.

This was the night I needed you.

You were my elixir--

This was the night that I jumped from the train platform,

To run to you.

And you told me you loved me too.

You told me you loved me too.

My mind was calloused by past faults,

But you told me you loved me too

Everything you said was true.

This was the last night I was yours and you were mine

and everyone else was wrong.

You were my release--

You were my real ease.

You were my base.

You were my peace.

This was the night I realized you were not 'for' me--

Because you chose to hear them

Instead.

You were pure--

My muse.

You were everything I aspired to be for myself.

But this was the night

I realized my betrayal to myself

I glued you to a pedestal so far above everything

To me, you were everything

Everything.

I willingly molded my worth around you.

The value I had for you--

The lack that I had for myself.

My devotion was limitless.

I was bound

To you.

But this was the night.

Where were you?

Why didn't you save my name from the depths of their ignorance?

Why did you let them twist your ears to favor their wicked tongues?

Please, please, please--

LALALALALALALALALAICANTHEARYOULALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALAALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALA....

You loved me too, right?

LALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALALA

Right?

Say it, please.

In that moment, they had pried you out of my shaking hands

and laughed

No.

This was the night

That I was 'crazy'

And I believed it.

And you were glad.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page